Manchester City City beat Spurs to win fourth straight League Cup

Manchester City secured a record-equalling fourth successive League Cup triumph as they defeated Tottenham Hotspur in the Carabao Cup finalon Sunday.

With 8,000 fans watching on Aymeric Laporte squeezed a header past Hugo Lloris on 82 minutes to give City the cup.

City have now tied Liverpool for most men's League Cup titles, with both sides winning eight each.

In a surprise to many, Harry Kane was named in the starting team despite carrying an injury. However, there was little for him to do in the first half as City dominated with Spurs struggling to get a hold of the ball.

Phil Foden had one of the best opportunities to put Pep Guardiola's men ahead on 26 minutes when his shot from eight yards off deflected off Toby Alderweireld and onto the post.

Moments later Raheem Sterling saw his shot fly just wide and the half ended with both sides level.

Spurs started the second half brighter, with Giovani Lo Celso forcing Zack Steffen into a rare but excellent save two minutes in. It was a powerful performance from the United States men's national team player who started ahead of No. 1 pick Ederson.

At other end of the pitch, Lloris was forced into a number of good saves as City continued to hammer his goal, including a powerful shot from Riyad Mahrez on 73 minutes.

However, 10 minutes later Laporte headed past Lloris from Kevin De Bruyne's free kick.

The loss continues Spurs' longest trophy drought since 1951. Their last title was the League Cup in 2007-08.

No comments

Thanks for viewing, your comments are appreciated.

Disclaimer: Comments on this blog are NOT posted by Olomoinfo, Readers are SOLELY responsible for their comments.

Need to contact us for gossips, news reports, adverts or anything?
Email us on;

Powered by Blogger.