Mane wins African Male Player of the year Award and Asisat Oshoala wins record fifth CAF Best Player Award

Sadio Mane of Senegal has emerged winner of 2022 African Player of the Year, Men’s category while Nigeria's Super Falcons forward Asisat Oshoala won a record fifth CAF Women’s Player of the Year award.

Mane beat former Liverpool teammate Mo Salah, his compatriot, Chelsea goalie Edouard Mendy, to the award.

The Confederation of African Football Awards was held in Rabat Morocco on Thursday.

“Sadio Mane is the Player of the Year (MEN) for the second time,” CAF announced.

Mane led Senegalese team to their first ever victory at the 2021 edition of African Cup of Nations, scoring the winning goal in a 4-2 penalty shootout, against Pharaoh of Egypt.


Oshoala, 27, got the award on Thursday at the CAF gala held in Rabat, Morrocco.

Her previous awards came in 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2019.

The only other former Falcons player to have won the award four times was Perpetua Nkwocha.

In the 2021-22 campaign, Oshoala played a pivotal role in Barcelona Femeni’s treble charge – the Spanish Women’s Super Cup, Copa de la Reina and the Primera Division.

In the male category, Sadio Mane won the 2022 CAF Player of the Year award.

The Senegal forward clinched the award for the second time.

Full list:

Player of the Year (Men)
Sadio Mane (Senegal and Bayern Munich)Player of the Year (Women)
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and FC Barcelona)Interclub Player of the Year (Women)
Evelyn Badu (Ghana and Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Interclub Player of the Year (Men)
Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly)
Young Player of the Year (Women)
Evelyn Badu (Ghana and Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
Young Player of the Year (Men)
Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal and Tottenham Hotspur)
Coach of the Year (Women)
Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
Coach of the Year (Men)
Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
Club of the Year (Women)
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
Club of the Year (Men)
Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
National Team of the Year (Men)
National Team of the Year (Women)
The winner will be announced on 23 July 2022 during the final match of the Women’s AFCON.

Goal of the Year

Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal and Simba)

No comments

Thanks for viewing, your comments are appreciated.

Disclaimer: Comments on this blog are NOT posted by Olomoinfo, Readers are SOLELY responsible for their comments.

Need to contact us for gossips, news reports, adverts or anything?
Email us on;

Powered by Blogger.